• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Started by FlyingS, May 08, 2017, 11:17:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FlyingS

This is my first posting, new to the forum. I'm new to the hobby and I am working on my second model. The first one is a P-51B. I was inspired by the identification models my uncle had when I was a young fellow. I carved my model from a piece of left over cedar mail box post. I left it in the natural wood finish. I like the looks of the cedar but it is really easy to mark, even with your finger nail.
I'm very excited to have found this forum!!
Harvey Naeser

lastvautour

Welcome Harvey. Your model looks great. I hope to see more in future. If you require any assistance, feel free to speak up. Is your Mustang a 2017 project? If so I will add it to the SMM Yearbook post.
Again, welcome to the group.

Lou

FlyingS

Thanks for the welcome. Yes I did the Mustang this year. I plan on trying something new in each model to help develop my skills. Currently working on a Gee Bee Model D.

Model Maker

Hi Harvey - Welcome to the Group!!

Your P-51 looks great in the natural finish. Natural finishes always seem to bring out the best from a piece of wood and the natural variation of the cedar color and grain exemplify your artistry.

It's always interesting to see how others construct a model. I never thought to increase the wing thickness for the wing to fuselage fillet. Typically I have to glue on some pieces to the side of the fuselage. But I really like your approach of placing the extra thickness on the wing.

Looking forward to your next endeavour. Hopefully you will post some progress photo.

-ken

FlyingS