• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Model Art (was Re: Long Distance Flights Cook-Up)

Started by Mothman, September 13, 2011, 09:35:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mothman

Reading this thread as a newbie, I was struck by the concern over whether our work is art or not.
I maintain that a straight model of an aircraft is purely craftsmanship and I am happy with that.  Only if I put the model in a scenic set-piece could art be said to be present as I decide how to model that which is not quantifiable and therefore has to be suggested. Once there is more than one way to skin a cat FOR AN EFFECT, it starts to knock on artistry's door.
With so much garbage in the art world I don't WANT my work considered as art.
I strive to be a craftsman.  Airy fairy, arty farty can go and drink champers in some minimalist gallery full of pseuds in Mayfair and long may they stay right there, raving over daubs and unmade beds!

Cheers,
M

Balsabasher

Mothman well said,I could not agree more about the so called art world,I am an artist myself who enjoys doing my own thing and to the best of my abilty,just like my solids as well,it is that inner satisfaction that counts and doing a job that you enjoy.
Drawing two charcoal lines against a piece of white paper and saying that it is art is ludicrous,call me oold fashioned but I like things done properly with depth to things combined with proper skills,thank you for your thoughts.
Barry.

Mothman