• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Fireball XL-5

Started by Ken Pugh, January 18, 2010, 03:07:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ken Pugh

Once I finished a major multi-year project I was finally able to get back to things that have been neglected.  One of those projects was the Fireball XL-5.  I have never seen the series, a British puppet series in black and white.  I mainly became interested in the subject while studying the website of Martin Bower.

Martin Bower is a British model-maker whose work you have probably seen without knowing it.  Check out his website for some great construction pics.

http://www.martinbowersmodelworld.com/

Photos will follow shortly.  The model is progressing slowly because I have to rebuild our kitchen floor, a great challenge considering my disability problems.  This project would have been much easier if I had a lathe big enough, but I am doing it the hard way, carving a cylinder by hand.  At least I have some experience with carving cylinders with my submarine build.

Ken Pugh

lastvautour

Supercar inspired me to design a whole series of crafts. I even had a control line flying model that I designed and flew for quite a while before a disastrous landing.  A youth well spent!!

Lou

animek

Let's not forget the famous song that goes with it. ;D
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G3yN6WfpaUQ&feature=PlayList&p=CAD39962A9DA5C5D&playnext=1&playnext_from=PL&index=7

Regarding Marting Bower, I'm still scratching my head when I discovered his site a few years ago, the man looks my age, and I was just a kiddo when those XL5 and Space 1999 shows came out, he must have made those models when he was 8 or something  ???
Ben

lastvautour

Balsabasher