• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Greetings from High Plains

Started by High Plains, November 02, 2013, 12:44:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

High Plains

Greetings!

I just wanted to introduce myself. I am a transplanted urbanite living for the past two years in a small town in southeastern Colorado (hence "High Plains"). I've been looking at the board for a while now, but Lou's "mentoring" invitation kind of pushed me forward. I'm a complete novice when it comes to solid scale aircraft.

My primary aircraft interests are early flight, pre-war and post-war civil propliners and Soviet / eastern bloc civil aircraft. I'm interested in working in 1/144 scale.

I've model railroaded off and on through the years, but I've become disillusioned with the state of the hobby which emphasizes collecting over modeling and the cost has gotten to the point where it's unaffordable to most mortals. I've been looking at "traditional" scratch building techniques, which is what brought me to this forum. I've done a little paper modeling, and while I think paper modeling has a lot of things going for it, I also don't think it's the right medium for aircraft.

I started scratchbuilding a 1/144 model of a Farman F.250, which I based on a paper model I found at http://www.maquettes-papier.net/forumenpapier/topic9617.html#p106830. (The model is 1:160, but I enlarged it to 1:144). I've carved a decent body (not 100% happy with it, but it's decent), but I think I'm going to run into trouble with the wings, which are a little bit unusual. I'd be happy to hear any tips or guidance on carving 1/144 scale aircraft -- I know it's probably more challenging than 1:72. 

Look forward to getting to know you.

-- Jeremy

Peter

Hey Jeremy,