• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Chisel sharpener tool arrives

Started by Balsabasher, October 29, 2013, 09:28:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Balsabasher

The chisel sharpening tool has arrived,what a quirky thing it is ! I had not realised that it runs from an electric drill but it certainly does,the assembly instructions were dreadful and in parts made no sense at all,after studying the instructions and looking at the pictures and drawings I finally worked it out.

This is how it works,a water tank provides the lubrication for the sharpening process for this the wheel picks up water as it spins and transports it via feeder hole which flows onto the chisel edge as it s being ground,you can use 25,30 and 45 degrees they suggest 25 degrees for chisels and say the secondary angle is not important,I am no expert but it certainly works fine with that setting,the chisel fits into an holder which is locked from one side by a beefy threaded rod with a turnscrew which locks the chisel via 'v' shaped wedge,the chisel holder sits onto a slider at the top then you feed in the blunt tool just resting it against the wheel,now this is where the device gets interesting,as you spin up the drill you press the front and hold it either side with your fingers,its good because you can sense the blade being sharpened done by feel,as the water flows it removes metal which cycles into the water bath,they provide a bench mounted leather strop which you can see in the picture for burnishing the back of the chisel once it has been sharpened,you wold not think that leather was slightly abrasive but it certainly is and cleans up the chisel ready for use,a quick test was done with a really old chisel that had seen better days and had been misused,it has been transformed into a really good tool that cuts through wood like butter.