• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

New manufacturing?

Started by RyanShort1, April 27, 2019, 02:27:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RyanShort1

Has anyone given consideration to trying to do a new / modern business venture doing a repro of these old models?

lastvautour

It sounds like a good idea as there must be lots of them in our(my) generation. I would be a poor candidate for such work as it would feel like work. To me that IS a four letter word!!  If you do decide to go down that road, I wish you luck.

Lou

RyanShort1

LOL! I get it. OTOH, it could be a fun challenge to set up some jigs that could be used by others! (Hint!)

lastvautour

My predictable future has very little or no modeling for the rest of the year as we are moving. My collection is 3/4s packed and many of my shelving has been taken apart. I haven't even looked at packing my workshop.

Lou

Lotus-14

Hi Gang,
I have toyed with the idea a number of times, as a mechanical engineer, I thought it would be fun. In the '80s and '90s,  I did sell plans for Control-Line models through Flying Models magazine, it was moderately successful, but no where near making a living; at best it was break even. But I had a job, and didn't need the income from it.
I spent some time studying Strombecker models as a possibility, particularly the ship models. Strombecker used an assortment of manual and automatic carving machines, like shapers. I have looked for the machines, but it is just about impossible to find them anymore (they probably went to China for scrap), and the tooling would be very expensive. My idea was to sell finished models and kits at places like craft fairs, where you already have a group interested in making things.
There was a company in Oregon that made a Strombecker like model of the Martin Clipper, but they didn't last too long. I don't know what their manufacturing process was, but it was a very nice kit.