• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

1/48 DHC-2 Beaver

Started by Gearup, March 24, 2020, 06:13:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gearup

Greetings all.
I am starting my new project. My son flys these aircraft for an all floatplane airline here on Canada's west coast. So it's a DH2 Beaver!

I am attaching pictures and descriptions of the build as I progress. Many of you know the techniques, but I am going to show them for the benefit of newcomers. Of course these are only a few ideas and not the way anything must be done. Hey, I'm not a professional model builder  ;)

Using 1:48 scale will give a wing span of 12". It will be basswood (also called lemon wood) and will require a piece 1 inch thick, 4 inches wide and 16 inches long. The fuselage will be built up from two, 2"x8" pieces. Try to use wood that is fully 1" thick as it will allow for the floats to fit without needing to add a piece to fit the float width.

Picture 1. (3292)
I have cut the fuselage blocks to size and am going to glue them together. A soft artist charcoal was used to blacken both faces to be glued. Doing this will provide a perpetual centerline during the carving of the model. I had used a light coat of spray paint on my previous Mosquito, but the charcoal was faster as it did not need to dry.

Picture 2 (3301)
Placing the side plan.
I drew a centerline on the side to position the side-plan view.

I used a paper punch to make two holes over the plan centerline and intersection of a station line. Cut the backing of the tape with a razor across the plan at about mid point. Without removing the backing I aligned the plan centerline by viewing the side centerline on the block through the punched holes. Hold either half of the plan tight to the block, lift the free end up and remove the backing from the tape. Now lay the plan back down ensuring the centerline has not shifted as viewed through the hole. Then press the plan down firmly and repeat with the remaining end.