• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Thinning Paint for Airbrushing

Started by dave_t, October 12, 2009, 07:47:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dave_t

I have had terrible experiences trying to hand paint Tamiya acrylics, so I avoid it now.

I thin Tamiya colors down for airbrushing, something like 50% paint and 50% isopropyl (rubbing) alcohol and I've also tried PollyS thinner which is also alcohol based. Both work fine. I've had success with Folk Art paints (found in craft stores) and artist's acrylics from tubes, both thinned with alcohol. I've never tried them with water, that may work too.

The Tamiya gloss white looks terrific Garet. I've never tried their glossy colors before.

Oceaneer99

Lou,

Yes, you are correct that water is the correct thinner for the Elmer's wood putty, which is a latex-based product.  I have colored similar putties in the past with acrylic paint, specifically, lightweight spackle, which I tinted to look like balsa for lightweight filler in flying models.

I used to brush with enamel, but have almost never airbrushed it.  I switched to (at the time) Polly-S acrylics when I got my first (toy) airbrush.

Dave,

Yes, I agree with not hand-brush Tamiya.  I also ended up with a 50-50% dilution for the airbrush in the end.  I had a small bottle of Tamiya thinner, but it is mostly alcohol.  My Tamiya colors were all from one bag of jars that I picked up at a thrift store a while back.  I did buy a larger bottle of thinner recently, but haven't had to use it yet.  However, I'm now almost out of white, which I'll need to replace to paint my Ascender spaceplane.