• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Welcome Rick aka Ltrick

Started by lastvautour, October 04, 2017, 09:02:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lastvautour

I have been in contact with Rick. here are his comments.

Hi Lou, my first name is Rick. The ltrick portion of my login is short for Lieutenant Rick as I retired as a lieutenant from my former law enforcement agency. I am a pure beginner to model making. I've never done it. But I have quite a bit of woodworking experience and some metal working experience. I haven't started making a model yet as I wanted to find out what the best wood to use is, what specialty tools are needed et cetera. Tutorials on the site would be fine. I haven't really used a forum before so I am sure there will be a learning curve.

I look forward to getting started.

Thanks for your kind and helpful email.

Sincerely,

Rick

Join me in welcoming Rick to our flock.

Flying T

HI  RICK. I HAVE DONE MODELS IN MY YOUTH AND YEAR AGO I JUMPED IN.
THERE IS A LOT OF KNOWLEDGE HERE.LOOK AROUND.SEE MY TOPIC-
AIRCRAFT IN MINATURE. THE SITE HAS A VERY GOOD CHART,TOO.
FLYING T (AKA. LARRY)

FlyingS

Welcome LtRick. I also have just started carving SW airplanes. For tools I think you can start with a large and small exacto knife and or a good pocket knife with a couple different size blades. I used different size and shape files (check local hardware store) I find there are a half dozen files I always go to. And of course sandpaper. Once you get a little experience you can add to your tool collection.
I just recently bought a small belt sander and 10" band saw.
I like basswood but I have to order it on line. But to start get some 5/4 pine (smooth pieces with less grain). I have used pretty much any kind of wood I can get my hands on. I find some types of pine boards have hard and soft grain can be more difficult to carve. Best thing is just get started and and enjoy the hobby.