• Welcome to Solid Model Memories.net.

Skype chatroom

Started by R.F.Bennett, August 02, 2010, 05:53:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

R.F.Bennett

I'm thinking about trying to get as many members involved with Skype as we can. Are there any Skype users out there?
"The Dude Abides"

Falsemuzzle

I know several people who use it to speak with family...and they do enjoy it. I've been using Ventrilo for when I "get my geek on" and do some gaming. My guess is that Skype is basically the same thing. Seems like a pretty good idea.

By the way...I am VERY new to this aspect of modelling. Paper/Card Modelling beat out Plastic a while back. Balsa and Tissue modelling has almost completely beat out Paper and Card. And now it seems that this will be the next great challenge for me.  :)

Ne Desit Virtus

lastvautour

I speak to my son in Korea often. I don't keep skype open as it interferes with my PC's processor and speed goes way down.

Lou

Ken Pugh

I used Skype many years ago.  I have used Teamspeak but that requires purchasing of servers.  I have also used MSN Messenger for group chat.  Worked fine and was free.  I had a conversation with a friend in Panama and Italy at the same time.  I guess the rats got to chewing on lines in Panama and he dropped out, but my connection with Italy was clear as a bell and sounded like he was in the next room.

My stupid sound card, by a "reputable" vendor of the "Creative" type, would not allow me to use my microphone.  I was really ticked off when I spent a lot of money to upgrade to a better sound card and my mic quit working.   They know about it and won't fix it.  I recently got a USB headset with a mic and tried it out with Teamspeak 3.  Works like a charm.  Since it was a Microsoft brand it works well with Messenger.  Microsoft may raise the blood pressure of some people but I have found, for the most part, their products do actually work together, even as the OS progresses upward.